droit constitutionnel canadien

Communication

Fifty Shades of Ultra Vires: The Many Faces of Judicial Review of Legislation

Le vendredi 13 mai, les participants se sont réunis en personne et virtuellement pour marquer le départ à la retraite de la juge Rosalie Silberman Abella de la Cour suprême du Canada. Cet événement, organisé par l'Institut canadien d'administration de la justice (ICAJ), célèbre la vie et la carrière de la juge Abella, ainsi que […] Lire la suite

General Public Law (DCC 2118)

Ce cours est une introduction générale aux principes fondamentaux du droit constitutionnel canadien (à l'exception du fédéralisme, qui fera l'objet du cours DCC3104 A offert au trimestre d'hiver). Ces principes sont largement hérités du système constitutionnel anglais et ont été influencés par le droit constitutionnel américain. Ils seront étudiés principalement par la lecture et la […] Lire la suite

Livre

Droit constitutionnel: principes fondamentaux – notes et jurisprudence

Résumé En 1982, les professeurs François Chevrette et Herbert Marx ont fait œuvre de pionnier en publiant Droit constitutionnel : notes et jurisprudence (P.U.M.), un ouvrage monumental alliant sa fonction pédagogique à celle de référence doctrinale. Trente-quatre ans plus tard paraît enfin une nouvelle édition de la première partie du célèbre ouvrage consacrée aux principes fondamentaux […] Lire la suite

Livre

Constitutional Law: Fundamental Principles

Résumé En 1982, les professeurs François Chevrette et Herbert Marx ont fait œuvre de pionnier en publiant Droit constitutionnel : notes et jurisprudence (P.U.M.), un ouvrage monumental alliant sa fonction pédagogique à celle de référence doctrinale. Trente-quatre ans plus tard paraît enfin une nouvelle édition de la première partie du célèbre ouvrage consacrée aux principes fondamentaux du droit […] Lire la suite

Autre publication

2019 Canadian Constitutional Report

Ce contenu n'est pas disponible dans la langue sélectionnée. Except in criminal procedure, the Supreme Court decided less constitutional cases in 2019 than in previous years. The three selected for this report deal with the following questions: (i) the right to vote of long-term non-resident citizens in federal elections; (ii) the concurrent application of provincial […] Lire la suite

Autre publication

The Resurgence of the Notwithstanding Clause

Ce contenu n'est pas disponible dans la langue sélectionnée. The product of a last minute political compromise between the federal government of Canada and some provinces as a condition for adopting a constitutional bill of rights, s. 33 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms 1982 allows the federal Parliament or a provincial legislature […] Lire la suite

Communication

Développements récents en droit constitutionnel 2019-2020

Cette formation en-ligne propose une analyse critique des principaux arrêts en droit constitutionnel rendus par la Cour suprême du Canada et les autres tribunaux d'appel canadiens dans la dernière année, en lien avec la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867. Inscription (frais)   Liste provisoire des arrêts 1. Procédure […] Lire la suite

Article

Erga Omnes or Inter Partes? The Legal Effects of Federal Courts’ Constitutional Judgments

Une décision en matière constitutionnelle rendue par une Cour fédérale s’applique-t-elle uniquement aux parties à l’instance ou son application peut-elle être plus étendue? En d’autres termes, au-delà de la portée des principes de stare decisis et de res judicata, les effets des décisions en matière constitutionnelle rendues par les Cours fédérales sont-ils inter partes ou […] Lire la suite

Autre publication

Ford et Irwin Toy 30 ans plus tard | Ford and Irwin Toy 30 Years Later

Il y a trente ans, dans un contexte politique national tendu, la Cour suprême du Canada rendit jugement dans trois aff aires qui marqueront profondément la société et le droit constitutionnel canadien : Ford c. Québec (P.G.) et son pourvoi connexe, Devine c. Québec (P.G), ainsi que Irwin Toy Ltd. c. Québec (P.G.) décidées à quelques mois d’intervalle1. Sur fond de confl its linguistiques au Québec […] Lire la suite

Canadian constitutional law

General Public Law (DCC 2118)

This course is a general introduction to the fundamental principles of Canadian constitutional law (with the exception of federalism, which will be the subject of the course DCC3104 A offered in the winter term). These principles are largely inherited from the English constitutional system and have been influenced by US constitutional law. They will be […] Read more

Book

Droit constitutionnel: principes fondamentaux – notes et jurisprudence

In 1982, Professors François Chevrette and Herbert Marx pioneered the publication of Droit constitutionnel : notes et jurisprudence (P.U.M.), a monumental work that combined its pedagogical function with that of a doctrinal reference. Thirty-four years later, a new edition of the first part of the famous work has been published, devoted to the fundamental principles of […] Read more

Book

Constitutional Law: Fundamental Principles

In 1982, Professors François Chevrette and Herbert Marx published a pioneering work: Droit constitutionnel: notes et jurisprudence (P.U.M.) 1264 pages, a monumental resource allying pedagogy with doctrinal reference. Thirty-four years later, a new edition of the first part of the celebrated work has finally been published, covering the fundamental principles of Canadian constitutional law (except the federal […] Read more

Other publication

2019 Canadian Constitutional Report

Except in criminal procedure, the Supreme Court decided less constitutional cases in 2019 than in previous years. The three selected for this report deal with the following questions: (i) the right to vote of long-term non-resident citizens in federal elections; (ii) the concurrent application of provincial environmental protection laws and federal bankruptcy laws to spent […] Read more

Conference

Développements récents en droit constitutionnel 2019-2020

This online course will examine the recent developments in constitutional law at the Supreme Court of Canada and the other courts of appeal under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Constitution Act, 1867. The course will be given in French. Registration (fee)   Provisional list of cases 1. Constitutional procedure Canada (Sécurité publique […] Read more

Other publication

Ford et Irwin Toy 30 ans plus tard | Ford and Irwin Toy 30 Years Later

Thirty years ago, in a tense national political context, the Supreme Court of Canada rendered judgment in three cases that have had a profound impact on Canadian society and constitutional law: Ford v. Québec (A.G.) and its related appeal, Devine v. Québec (A.G.), and Irwin Toy Ltd. v. Québec (A.G.) decided a few months apart1. Against the backdrop of language conflicts in Québec and constitutional reform at […] Read more